Weddings, emotions and recording the beauty.

My daughter was married in January this year. They grow up way too fast. I miss my sweet little curly haired mischief maker. She’s a grown woman now making her way in the world and I’m so very proud of her.

Her wedding day was filled with love, laughter and a few happy tears. The tears started when her father began to sob just before he walked her down the aisle. His tears set her off and they were both a blubbering mess before they even appeared to the guests.

a172_

When I saw them both crying, of course I started and when I looked around at the guests many of them were too. Adam, the groom, couldn’t look Erin in the eye because he didn’t want to start crying. Avoiding her eyes might have worked as she walked down the aisle but after the ceremony when his family came to congratulate him his tears were running down his cheeks. As I said, they were happy tears and they set the mood for the entire wedding.

a206_

a316_

10428591_10203724094571076_4402945447157622727_n

The day after the wedding I took quite a few photos of her wedding bouquet. It was looking a bit the worse for wear but I wanted to capture a few closeups of it because I thought that maybe one day I would paint it for her. That way she could keep it forever.

IMG_6059 - Version 2

IMG_6062

So here it is…..Erin’s bouquet in watercolour. I hope she treasures it.

erins-bouquet-ps- pixelreduced

19588738_9308888-frm801nt04_pm

19588806_16520613-plwfr2_pm

I have prints of the painting available on Etsy. I sell a lot of this painting on Redbubble so I decided to paint a different version of it. It’s on my painting board at the moment.

IMG_5190

8 thoughts on “Weddings, emotions and recording the beauty.

  1. How thoughtful of you to paint the bouquet for your daughter!? What a wonderful Father you are! And such a memorable thing to do. My father has passed away sadly so he will never see me marry… I really like your watercolour style, well done. I think this is a marketable business idea for you too. Photos at weddings then watercolour paintings and pillows in 2 or 3 styles, great business idea!! 🙂 Well done!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Anita. I’m so sorry to hear about your father. Mine passed away in 2004 and I miss him every day. I am getting a lot of enjoyment from painting flowers. I’ve been painting animal and birds for so long- it’s a nice change. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I first came across your paintings when I saw this beautiful bouquet. I have followed you ever since. As a beginner, I find your painting journey inspiring and it gives me hope! I love the subjects you choose- and I can just tell you are a lovely person by your love of animals, nature and the generous way you share your process. Looking forward to your E-books!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Laurie for your lovely comment. I appreciate you taking the time to write. It means more than you can know. Dom, my husband has been encouraging me to write this blog for months but I am always too busy painting. I realise now that I need to spend as much time promoting myself and my art as much I do painting. It inspires me knowing that people like yourself are interested in what I do. It keeps me focussed. So thank you again. I am indebted to you xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

